Bullish

On Friday Frida enjoyed lunch at Tierra.  She was perfect.  After ten minutes of sitting quietly at our side she lowered her head and snoozed until we left.  Only one thing bothered me–I brought her there in my car.  I shouldn’t fire up a machine with 1,200 pounds of carrying capacity to move 200 pounds of cargo two miles.  I mean I wouldn’t get out a sledge hammer to hang a picture.  So this arrived today.Frida's Burley Tail Wagon

A Burley Tail Wagon!  I am still loving my Burley Nomad cargo trailer–nine years and going strong–so I didn’t hesitate to again dip a bucket in Burley’s well.  The idea is to trailer our vision impaired pooch to local eateries with outdoor seating so we can enjoy the world as a family.  My car, sipping electricity from a battery tender, will wait patiently for longer journeys.  Here’s Frida keeping a (cloudy) eye on her trailer.  Guarding Trailer

Then she relaxed.  Frida's First Ride 05.06.15

I almost didn’t buy it.  Who knows how much longer Frida will be with us.  But isn’t that it exactly?  We don’t know.  She could be enjoying life for months or more and I don’t want to spend the whole of that time at home.  And I am not uncomfortable admitting to myself there will be other dogs.  No Fridas, to be sure, but our future may (subject to Lacey’s veto right) hold a Gertrude, a Selma or a Sena.  One and all will be invited to audition the trailer–if it is to their liking, they will be chauffeured all over town.

An aside.  When I was putting it together I noticed a made in China sticker on the trailer.  My Burley Nomad, purchased in 2006, was made in Eugene, Oregon.  Based on that, I assumed the Tail Wagon was made there as well.  The manual says Burley by Design.  Their site says “In 1978 Burley became a worker-owned cooperative, and in 2006 members sold the company to Michael Coughlin, a Eugene businessman, community leader, and Oregon native.”  Maybe this fellow moved production overseas.  Oh well.  I hope the workers enjoyed the proceeds of their buy out.  Their right, you know.

One more thing about the trailer–all cars changed lanes to pass us.  They must have thought I was hauling a kid.  Whatever.  I loved the safe passes.  I’ll probably use this trailer to haul groceries and enjoy the added respect I get as a perceived procreator.  Winning!  Have any dog trailering stories or tips?   Please share them!Hosta

Yesterday I ate my first Hosta.  In Japan they are known as urui and are cultivated for food.  Only the young shoots are eaten.  Harvested in Spring and best when cut in the morning.  Mature leaves are bitter.  I ate just one raw.  Delicious.  Crunchy.  Tasted like chicken.  Just kidding.  Tasted like romaine.  I’ll harvest more next Spring.

Here’s Frida asleep in fallen pedals from our magnolia tree.  Precious moments (reference intended).

Asleep in Pedals 05.0515

Thirty days have passed since I wrote to the CDTA about close passing.  No response.  So I wrote again.  Five bucks says another thirty days will pass without a response.  Maybe I should type a response for them and include a self addressed stamped envelope.  Something like

We are very troubled by your report of the behavior of some of our operators.  We take safety very seriously and will do everything within our power to ensure our operators not only follow all laws at all times but also interact with other road users in a courteous manner.  As an initial measure we have added to our training program a module on safe passing of vulnerable road users.  Operators will be required to review this module annually.  An outline of the module is attached for your review.  Please share with us your comments.  Best regards, CDTA.

That, or they could keep up with ignoring the issue.  I’ll (probably) survive.

Be well.

4 responses to “Bullish

  1. I love you and I love Frida. When the day comes to bring a new furry companion into our lives, we are not going to name her after our grandmothers! No Sena or Selma dogs!

    • You know you can veto anything you want in our relationship but I propose your veto carries more weight when you are speaking on behalf of your deceased grandmothers. I should be able to waive theoretical objections on behalf of my deceased grandmother. Or I could call Constance and see how she would feel. Just kidding. We’ll name the next one Whiskey.

  2. Tire pressure helps. You have to avoid potholes in a completely different way- putting a pothole to your right may mean it’s now directly in the path of the right trailer wheel. Also, I don’t know why, but my trailer makes me want a ton of ridiculous flags. Like some gypsy pirate monstrosity.

    Wonder if we could organize a bike-trailer ride. Drivers would *love* that.

    • Tire pressure! Good point! Lowering it can help.

      Flags! I like them too! The Burley flag that came with this trailer sits in a shallow plastic receiver. The fit is loose! I doubt it would stay put for a single ride. I could shim it with a little tape, but so far I’ve just skipped it. I always ran a flag on the Nomad. That one has a nylon nylon webbing flag slot sewn to the side of the trailer. Very secure, but the new plastic hole will certainly get the new owner a few more pennies for each trailer sold. Seems penny foolish, though, if a user’s kid or dog gets squished. One judgment would pay for decent flag holders for trailers for decades.

      Trailer convoy! Breaker one nine.

      Thanks for writing! Later!

Share your thoughts!

