Sometimes a Plumber

We love our 1955 home.  The best parts are the things that haven’t been changed.  Like our pink and green bathroom.  

It is shaped like an L so you need two pictures to take it all in.

Can’t miss the Mermador!

Lacey and I knew we were buying the house the instant we saw the bathroom.  The sellers left a note apologizing for it.  It was next on their list of things to correct, but they didn’t get to it.  I won’t show you the kitchen they “corrected.”  I don’t need to.  Open a sale flyer from Home Depot and find the kitchen with dark wood cabinets, an island with a granite countertop and faux stone easy install locking flooring.  I am not saying the kitchen isn’t nice.  It works.  It simply doesn’t have that WTF were they thinking magic of our most excellent bath.  We added period white globe fixtures to dress it up, but it is still a McKitchen.  Sigh.

The bathroom wasn’t perfect.  The first thing we had to fix were the fixtures on the sinks.  They were original and matched the others in the home so I wanted to keep them, but they were hard to turn and sometimes leaked.  I didn’t know what was inside.   I had never opened one up.  I imagined corroded brittle metal ready to snap on the next turn.  The shut off valves were not operational, so if something happened, we’d have to shut off the main and go without water until we could get a plumber.  In an emergency, we’d have to accept some heinous contemporary fixtures that would mar the vintage goodness of the rest of the room.  So we ordered cool Kohler fixtures for all three bathroom sinks in the house.  They were close to matching the others and we knew we’d love having well functioning faucets.  Then we called the plumber.

Thought making the call would be the hard part (I hate having people work on my home).  After he chopped up the first old one to get it out, turned out the new fixtures were slightly larger than the holes in the sink.  While the plumber removed the other two, I took out a dremel and ground on the sinks to make the holes bigger.  Ground on the faucets to make them a little smaller, too.  Tough work, but the plumber got them all in.  What a day.

Recently the hot water stem on the shower started leaking while on.  My heart sank.  I feared we’d have to get a new fixture and maybe even tear out some of the tile to get it in.  I wasn’t going down that road without a fight.  I read that sometimes tightening the bonnet nut on the stem would stop a leak.  I was afraid to do anything (no shut off at all), but I had to try.  I removed the handle and gave it a good shot of Liquid Wrench.  Waited a day and gave it another shot.  Waited another day and got out the big wrench.  The one with all the leverage allowing a ham-fisted handyman to snap off a fixture.  Was I going to be that doofus?

I stared at the thing for minutes.  Felt like hours.  I wanted to see into it, to know if it was about to disintegrate or in good condition.  My x-ray vision would not come up no matter how long I stared.  I  placed the wrench and gave it a meager push.  Clockwise to tighten it.  Nothing.  A harder push.  Nothing.  A little more and… it moved!  I stopped.  I was pumped and terrified.  I got really conservative all of a sudden.  Maybe the sixteenth of a turn would be enough.  I ran downstairs to turn the water back on to see if it had stopped leaking.  Sadly, it hadn’t, but I now knew if I could tighten it, I could loosen it.  If I could get it apart, I had a chance of finding the right part on the web and fixing it myself.  No new fixture.  No tearing out tiles.

I was able to get the stem out.  I didn’t know it was called a stem until I started hunting around the internet.  My family is littered with plumbers, but they didn’t share anything with me.  Probably because I didn’t ask.  In my ignorance, I half thought faucets were made of two parts.  A fixture with pipes connected and a handle that threads in to control the water.  I had no idea there was a third part that was easily removable and replaceable.  The stem!  Oh wonderous internet.

I found Faucet Parts Plus in Oklahoma.  Wonderful place.  They seem to have everything.  I guessed my shower fixture was American Standard, as that was marked on all the other fixtures, and I found the replacement stems pretty quickly.  Ordered a kit with new handles, trim, stems and seats.  I needed to put the old stem back in while we waited for the parts.  I greased it up with vaseline, as suggested on some site, put it back together and, voila, no leak.  I still wanted to replace the stem, but at least we were up and running while we waited.

We had never really used the tub in the bathroom.  That fixture was really spooky.  Extremely hard to turn and you had to crank them pretty well to shut them off.  Instead of risking catastrophe, we just stopped using the tub.  With my improved understanding of stems and their replacement, I ordered up a repair kit for the tub, too.

Then the hard work began.  These handles wouldn’t come off like the one in the shower did.  The web told me that getting the handles off might be the hardest part of the job.  It was.  Days of Liquid Wrench did nothing.  Turns out there is a tool for the job.  A faucet handle puller.  I got one and thought I was home free.  It took a couple of hours with the tool.  It kept slipping, so I had to hold it together with band clamps and work slowly.  Nothing.  More internet.  I read heat helps.  Heat makes metal contract and can break the calcification and rust that has all but welded the parts together.  Trusty hairdryer.  No longer used for hair.  Just weird projects that require heat.  Lo and behold it worked.

Decorative collars around the fixture probably didn’t have to come off, but getting them off would make the job easier, so I started the Liquid Wrench routine again over a couple of days.  These collars were chrome and round (no wrench flats).  I didn’t mind tearing them up as the repair kit included new ones, but even with channel lock pliers I was struggling mightily.  Heat helped again.  Three hours later, I had the collars off.

The stems should be easy.  I am happy to report, they were.  I did the Liquid Wrench routine again, to be safe, and used heat as well.  Got them both off.  I could have probably worked to get them apart, replaced o-rings, greased them and reused them, but I had new stems.  No reason to take the chance.  

Guess how much the stems cost?  If you buy just the stem, only $3.00!  I can only imagine what  plumber would have cost.  Would they have even wanted to try to fix the existing fixtures?  I needed to do small things over the course of days and weeks.  A little every day.  A plumber needs to get in and get out.  They probably have tricks to make it go faster, but I am so glad to have tried.

I was instructed to replace the seats while it was open.  I had the new seats and a seat removal tool,  but the seats looked fine.  I didn’t want to push my luck.  Easy to get back in if I change my mind or if the faucet leaks later.

The stems get lubricated with special plumbers grease.  Turns out vaseline will damage the rubber o-rings.  Plumbers grease will not.    

The threads of the bonnet nut that holds the stem in the fixture get thread compound.  It helps form a seal, eases later removal and is non-toxic.  A third special product, too.  Plumbers putty.  I formed a rope with that and pressed it around the fixture and against the tiles to close the holes.  If the stem leaks, there is now less chance it will make its way behind the tiles.  No picture of the plumbers putty fix.  The picture below shows the original installers plumbers putty with gaps after 50 years of sitting there (or maybe the plumber didn’t do a complete job originally).

It all went together really well.  Works like new.  Looks great.  I replaced the shower stem, too.  Since I had used vaseline on the old one when I had it apart, it was only a matter of time until that stem would leak again.  That went well, too.

We have our vintage bathroom back now in all its pink and green (and brown, did I forget to mention the metallic brown accent tiles?).  Fully operational, tub too!  I couldn’t be happier.

I have used up my luck for the day.  Caution is in order for the balance.  Take care.

34 responses to “Sometimes a Plumber

  1. I love this bathroom!!!! It reminds me of the best in bathrooms I have ever seen. There is just something about that pink and green combination, I think. It covers the masculine and feminine and everyone in between. Women are comfortable in there, men are good with it… This is a fun post. Congratulations on your successful project!

  2. The mermador!!! SO rad. I love your bathroom so much too.
    In related news, Jacob recently put a window in our bathroom–tis the season of bathroom fixups, maybe!

    • GooooOOOO Jacob! That’s crazy! I know I shouldn’t be intimidated, but the idea of cutting holes in my house has always freaked my shit. I am sure it went well and isn’t it nice to have light?

      Mermador, I know! The thought of that emblem ending up in a dumpster along with all the pink and green and brown goodness. I am so glad we bought the house and saved it all.

      Thanks for reading!

  3. Pingback: How to repair 1950s faucets without removing tile — and see Jacob’s “Mermador”! — Retro Renovation

  4. Hi Randal – Got here by way of Retro Reno. Just had a plumber in our 1940 bathtub fixing a leak. Fortunately he was able to replace a nut w/ only a little trouble. He provided some good advice when I expressed concern about needing to rip out (the likely not replaceable) tile: go in from behind. The fixtures for both our tub and shower are located on the other side of interior walls (specifically a bedroom wall and back of the coat closet). He said he would go in that way because he didn’t want to deal w/ the tile either. Hope that helps should you ever have a more serious problem. Thanks for sharing (and saving) such an awesome bathroom.

    • Thanks for reading and for the great tip. For better and worse, the wall in which the tub fixture is located is tiled on both sides! The shower, though, might have access through drywall. Depedns on how low they would need to go. Glad your fix was made easier. So great to save what you can, right?

      Take care!

  5. What a great article! (which I also heard about on Retro Renovation). I stopped on trying to finish the (half-a**ed) replumbing job the previous owner did on my mint green 40’s bath, but this is giving me hope I can do it the slow way myself.

  6. What product do you use to get the grungy marks off of your tub? I have calcified — it looks like — gunk at the bottom edge where the tub meets the floor, and around the original glass surround that makes the tub a shower-tub. I am afraid to try anything on it because I already took something too caustic to one sink and now I might have to have it refinished. Any advice?

    • Sorry to hear about your issues.

      I am only comfortable with Bon Ami, Softscrub and elbow grease. That said, if it is calcium, I’d try to find a way to get vinegar to settle on the spot. Maybe soak a paper towel and leave it over the area for many hours to see if that loosens it up. My uncle is a plumber and suggested soaking shower heads in vinegar to remove calcification.

      For the future, a tip from my Dad (the world’s greatest cleaner). Never leave ceramics or porcelain wet. Each time you use a shower, bath or sink, wipe it dry with a towel as soon as you are done. Sounds like a pain, but you will never have to use harsh cleaners again. We almost never have to clean our fixtures when we clean house as we are effectively cleaning them each time we use them. They always shine like new!

      Good luck!

  7. Pingback: 10 vintage shower doors help answer, What kind of shower door for my retro bathroom? — Retro Renovation

  8. I really like this bathroom too! Love the color scheme!! Great post as well.

  9. My sister sent me this link. I absolutely love your bathroom. I have a vintage (1961) green and black tiled bathroom. The taps are dripping and my husband wants to open up the wall to fix it (really, he hates the green and is looking for an excuse to get rid of it…) We don’t always get good shower pressure. Our shower/tub area is tiled at the front and back. I plan to show him this article and maybe he can use some tips to fix ours without breaking any tiles. Thanks for the info and the great photos! Charlene

    • Thanks for the kind words! Good luck with your project. I hope you are able to save your bathroom in its original form. So sad when careful work that has lasted fifty years is lost. I wish there was a yellow pages section for restoration plumbers. If I were a plumber, that’s how I’d advertise. Could even be my companies name! Again, thanks and good luck.

  10. Right here is the right website for anybody who would
    like to find out about this topic. You understand so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I actually will need to…HaHa).
    You definitely put a new spin on a subject which has been discussed for a
    long time. Great stuff, just excellent!

  11. Hey – I’m wondering if you can tell me which model stem you got – I have the exact same aquaseal fixture in my 1955 cape cod and I can’t find the match on the plumbing parts website…TIA!

  12. Great bathroom you have there! Congrats on your hard work!
    I love your shower door, they’re hard to find. I’m trying to save mine but need to replace that black plastic seal between the aluminum and the glass. Do you by any chance know what’s called and where to find it? HD, Lowes, ace hardware, none of these places are even able to tell me the part name. Thought you may know about them. Thanks!!

  13. Am I correct in understanding that you did not turn off the water to the shower before pulling the valve stems? I need to replace mine, but no one can figure out where the water shut off to my house is located! I’m afraid if I pull the valve stems out, water is going to come squinting out everywhere..

    • You absolutely need to turn off the water! Ind that shutoff!

      • Your reply saved me from making a huge mistake. I have the stems exposed, but I am fighting too many other “I have a house from 1958” fires to do anything with it yet. Phew. I will probably go down to the local Ace Hardware and see if they have some clues where to look, as they care all sorts of specialty hardware for our neighborhood houses.
        Thanks so much!

      • Glad I could help. Your shutoff should be in the basement (if you have one) somewhere along the wall facing the street.

    • You don’t have to shut off water to the whole house, just the one fixture. There should be hot and cold water shut-offs under every sink (look for the flexible hoses) and a shower or tub faucet wall access panel on the other side of the wall (sometimes in a bedroom closet or other out-of-the-way place).

  14. Hi Randal,
    Just read of your great repair. I need some assistance from you as to what parts I need to fix a hot faucet (drips), sink leak in my 1952 American Standard pink and blue bathroom. If I play with the knobs, I can sometimes stop the drip, but not most of the time. My plumber won’t touch it as he says it may break, being so old, but I don’t want to replace the sink just because of the faucet. The faucets are in the sink basin area facing out, not on the top of the sink. I’ve seen many retro sinks but not faucets. Since you had luck repairing your bath faucets, do you think you could help me in solving my problem? Thanks.

    Adrienne

  15. Hi Randal,
    I wonder if you can help me out with my retro repair problem. I have a 1952 American Standard sink w/faucets (in the basin area which face out). There is a leak (drips) in the hot water faucet and I would like to repair it, if possible. My plumber won’t touch it as he is afraid, since it is so old, that it might break. Could you tell me what I might try to stop the leak. If I play with it, sometimes I can get it to stop, but not most times. You mentioned different solvents you used; do you think one of those might work? Thanks for you help.
    Adrienne

    • The right way to fix it is to remove the stem and see if it is in need of replacement. It should be just a male threaded stem in a female threaded collar. Those parts may be calcified and, if cleaned and lubed, can be reused. You’ll want at minimum to replace the washer on the end of the stem. Held in place with a screw and easy to get off. Find a new one at a good hardware store or a plumbing supply house. Look down into the fixture itself to see the valve seat. It might be threaded into the fixture and removable with a hex key. If it looks clean and unmarked, leave it. If it is damaged, try to replace it. That’s as good as I can do. If you need more, I’d hunt around youtube some. Good luck!

  16. Amazing. Mermador! Searching for one to replace my re-done door.

  17. hi! i’m having the same problem and i have the same faucet. can’t get off the eschusean tube or the eschusean plate, how long did you use the heat for and should i try the liquid wrench?

Share your thoughts!