Colnago Frames from 1981

Continuing with the presentation of the Bikecology Summer 1981 catalog.  Let’s get to it.  Shimano Dura Ace EX.  The description of the group is interesting.  They passed on offering the aero group because of the scarcity of frames to accept it.  What parts in the aero group wouldn’t fit on conventional frames?  I remember that the shifters were together on top of the downtube  instead of on each side of it.  That probably required a special braze on, but what else?  I also remember that the pedals had huge threaded axles requiring use of the aero crank.  I see the aero crank available from time to time and want nothing to do with it.  Who wants a crank that can only accept a single style of pedal?  I wonder if the folks at Bikecology were simply not buying into something they saw as a fad?  Whatever their reason, it looks like they made the right choice.  The Dura Ace EX parts they did offer remain very popular with collectors.  The aero stuff, not so much so.

I promised Colnago frames, so let’s turn to page 6.

Isn’t it a beauty?  How about those special parts, too?  Oh to crawl into a time machine.  On this page we learn that you only needed $425 to play in Colnago’s realm.  Mistakes… I’ve made a few…

These seats look like Avocet copies (Avocet was the first to market saddles with raised bumps to reduce pressure on soft bits).  The text makes a few references to competitor’s saddles, which I am guessing was Avocet, yet when comparing prices they refer to Italian saddles.  Avocet was an American company.  I wonder whether the Bikecology saddles were priced below Avocet as well?  They did offer a full refund if a saddle was returned within 10-days and a one year defect warranty.  The Bikecology saddles might have been wonderful, but I have never seen one in person or for sale.  Haven’t looked too hard, though, as I am a huge fan of the seats from Avocet.  Have you ever seen a Bikecology saddle or even used one?  Let me know!

The garden is going great guns.  Little paper lanterns are hanging off the tomatillo plants.  Little cucumbers are poking out of vines all over the place.  I will harvest bok choi and white radishes this weekend and put up my first batch of kimchi.  I still have three jars from last year!  So sour and good.  We should get through the old stock quickly.

Be well, friends!

 

 

Share your thoughts!