Donuts

I ordered a 6-well donut pan from USA Pans.  It arrived today so I got right to work.  The recipe I cobbled together for my cast iron heart pan yielded a bit too much batter (the donuts baked over the edge of the mold a bit), so I adjusted the recipe downward.  The second reduced batch worked well in this pan, so here you go.First Donut 08.31.15

Baked Chocolate Cake Donuts with Boozy Chocolate Ganache

(Shh.  They’re vegan.)

Makes 6 full size donuts

Donuts

Whisk Together Dry:

1 C flour (I used 1/2 all purpose and 1/2 whole wheat pastry)

1/4 C cocoa powder

2 T ground flax seeds

1 t baking powder

1/2 t baking soda

1/2 t salt

Whisk Together Wet:

1/3 C sugar (not wet, I know, but this is where you want it)

2/3 C soymilk

2 T Miyoko’s soured coconut milk (plain unsweetened yogurt, apple sauce, mushed bananas or more milk should also work fine)

2 T canola oil

1 t vanilla

Combine Dry and Wet.

Fill wells about 2/3 full.  I used a tablespoon and ladled the batter into each mold twice–first one side of a well and then the other.  If you put the same amount in each well, this recipe should be just the right amount for this 6-well pan.

Bake at 350 for 14 minutes.

Ganache

1/2 C chocolate chips

1 T soy milk

1 T booze (I’ve enjoyed bourbon and mescal)

pinch salt

Once donuts are cool, microwave the ganache ingredients for 20 seconds then stir for a good amount of time.  The ingredients will continue to melt and smooth out as you stir.   If you can’t get it smooth, microwave 5 seconds more and stir again.  Repeat, until the ganache is smooth.  25 seconds worked for me.

Dip the donuts in the ganache and then allow to cool.  Eat one then pedal somewhere.Biking around Loon Lake 08.29.15

Later!

4 responses to “Donuts

  1. donuts! far out!

    • Thanks friend. Truth be told, they were more like donut shaped muffins. Next time I may liberally oil the pan in hopes that will crisp up the outsides a bit (I used none on these two batches). I’ll probably never match in the oven fried donut perfection, but neither will I kill myself quite so quickly as fried donuts may. Be well!

  2. That donut looked delicious, nutritious and gorgeous. We miss you and Lacey a lot. Fall hang soon. Food and vinyl. I asked Mabel what her favorite part of her day was yesterday, and she said “The puzzle!” And then I asked what her least favorite part of her day was and she said “The sandwich!” hahahahahaha. I thought you couldn’t go wrong with sun butter, jam and banana, but apparently you can.

    • Oho! Thanks for writing, the kind thoughts and the laughs. We miss you all too! Food is tricky and we can all be tough customers. Maybe remind her of her comment when she is older. Maybe just after she’s cooked you a meal. ; )

Share your thoughts!

