Smaller Victories

Last night I pedaled to Tampopo to eat a bowl of ramen before the first meeting of the Unofficial Olde English Scotch Club.  The vegetable ramen without “spicy” but with Sriracha was very much to my liking.  While there, I learned you can sit on the back side of the right hand counter, so I did.

Then to the first of hopefully many meetings (at the Olde English Pub and Pantry), where the entirety of the membership in attendance enjoyed a glass of The Macallan 17yr.  Obviously a very fine drink.

I noted that the Olde English Pub and Pantry has on tap Captain Lawrence Brewing Company’s Grapefruit IPA.  Everyone who speaks of it says it is better than Ballast Point’s Sculpin Grapefruit IPA.  Odd that the CLGIPA is not listed on the Captain’s site, but there is a Citrus Queen.  Anyway, the keg of  the CLGIPA at Oliver’s is kicked and Dan at the Olde English said that although they have four 1/2 barrel kegs, they once kicked a full 1/2 barrel keg in an evening (that’s 124 16 oz pours).  I guess that means I should soon get there again.  IMG_1313

Today the garden shared two bright red Padrón peppers (as well as kale, cukes and tomatillos).  I’ve never had luck growing peppers of any variety, and this year is no different.  Before today, my four Parón plants have produced roughly one pepper each.  Oh how I’d love to be inundated with Padrón peppers!  I’d fry, salt and eat a basket full with a bottle or two of beer.  Three hours from now, of course.IMG_1311

While I worked at the garden Frida made her way into the shed.  She never showed interest in going into our prior dog’s house in Omaha so never thought to buy her a house when we moved here.  I wonder if we should try.  That, or maybe a proper shed would please her.  She was reluctant to leave this one.  Anything for this dog.

Time to go.  Take care.

Share your thoughts!

