Making Hay

Work has slowed some, temporarily, and I am luxuriating in it.  Details?  I started the day by taking Lacey’s car to the dealership for an annual service and inspection.  How’s that for fun?  It was better than it sounds, though, because I brought Frida.  The two of us walked two miles in an hour and a half.  Not bad for a fourteen year old shepherd with a bum kidney.  IMG_1267

The car was ready within five minutes of our return to the dealership and Frida was ready for a laydown.  In fact, I don’t think she’s moved much all day.  Worn out!

I pedaled to Olivers for a howler of Maine Beer Company’s Peeper Ale.  This will be my first offering from these well respected brewers.  I can hardly wait until Lacey gets home from work.  High end beers in the driveway tonight!

To pass the time, I whipped up the veggie burger recipe from Miyoko Schinner’s The Homemade Vegan Pantry.  IMG_1268

The cookbook arrived Monday and this is the first thing I’ve made from it.  I would have guessed it would be the last since I bought the book for the recipes for pantry staples, but I had the ingredients for burgers on hand and needed something for dinner.  I quartered the recipe and four point five burgers just came out of the oven.  The house smells amazing.  I ate the point five burger already.  It is without a doubt the best veggie burger I’ve ever had or made.  The recipe combines mushrooms, rice and gluten flour plus a bunch of nice spices and flavorings.  My shopping list for this weekend includes a couple of things I need to make butter.  And on from there.  This one is going to be threadbare in no time.  Buy it immediately.

I also recently tweeted about making for the first time Burmese tofu from Vegan Richa’s Indian Kitchen.  Sometimes called chickpea tofu, it couldn’t be easier to make and is so delicious.  We’ve enjoyed it cold with an otherwise Japanese meal and I fried a couple of cubes to confirm that fried things are awesome.  Later in the day when I made the chickpea tofu, I read about the devastating flooding in Myanmar.  My heart is broken over all the death, suffering and destruction.  Sadly, I am not sure I would have heard about it without hunting around the net for info on chickpea tofu.  I need some new sources for news–the ones I frequent spend too much time covering the U.S. presidential race.

I hope you are well and have a wonderful evening.

Share your thoughts!

