Creators

I met four good people yesterday.Frida at Tierra 05.27.15

At Tierra, I met Renate Hartman and Byrgen Finkelman.  Together they are helping secure passage in New York State of the transgender nondiscrimination bill known as the Gender Expression Non-Discrimination Act (“GENDA”).  They blog here.  In 2013, Albany County extended protected the rights of transgender people by adding them to the Albany County Human Rights Law.  Time for New York State to catch up!  Ms. Hartman and Finkelman and wonderful people.  Thank you for making Albany a better place to live and for continuing your important work to improve the lives of everyone in our fine state.

At Albany Fire Extinguisher, I met Tom Kretzler, president of the business.  Despite the fact that they service 5,000 commercial accounts, Mr. Kretzler came out of his office to help me select the right extinguishers for my home.  Small potatoes but he still cares!  Even helped me load them in my car!  I learned that Albany Fire Extinguisher can refill a ten pound extinguisher for about $25.  Eco and affordable–I’ve paid more than that for a growler of beer!  If you don’t have extinguishers in your home, get to Albany Fire Extinguisher.

At Druthers, I met Tony Forder, editor of Ale Street News.  He quit his day job 20 years ago to put together an excellent paper covering all things beer.  Twenty years ago I was drinking Old Style.  We’ve come a long way, baby!  I was delighted to have the chance to learn from Mr. Forder while enjoying a Druther’s amber.  Thank you Mr. Forder!

By the way, go to Druthers on Broadway in Albany!  A very swell place.  $6 pints are reduced to $4 during happy hours.  Be prepared to enjoy either a full pint or a sampler of smaller pours (which would be perfect to share with a friend).  Other than the sampler, you can’t get less than 16 ounces.  Strange but I believe it to be true.  Seems like they have enough to feed vegans–as much as any of the local joints.  I was hoping they’d beat their competition in this regard, but it looks like I’ll have to wait for future menus.  Still, the beer alone is worth the trip.  The amber I purchased was delightful.  A prefect expression of the style.  Tony gave me a sip of a Druther’s porter.  Also top notch but for me out of season–I prefer the sweet beers in winter.  They fill any 32 or 64 ounce growler, too.

What a day!

Share your thoughts!

