Opening

More often than not, I find myself in an internet rut.  If you are, consider  a very engaging series entitled The Slow Boat to China.  Written by Charmaine Chua, the series follows the author as she travels from Los Angeles to Taipei aboard a monstrous shipping vessel.  Who knew you could book a passage aboard such a ship?  You don’t have to read too much to learn this isn’t a travel log.  Ms. Chau intends to investigate “the links between logistics infrastructures, supply chain labor and uneven development.”  Gulp.  Not to worry.  The first post begins simply enough with a description of the port, the ship and her cabin.  The second post requires heavier lifting as she gets into the seitan of her analysis, but by then I was hooked.  So maybe I’ll have to think a little.  A welcome change from so much of what I read on (and add to) the internet.

I almost forgot–this is what brought me to The Disorder of Things (the group blog that contains The Slow Boat to China posts).  While it is nice to be reminded that being veg isn’t weird everywhere (“Meat eating in India is thus defined in negation to the norm of vegetarianism, lacking an independent identity of its own”), the point of the article is to draw attention to the use of vegetarianism as a politically correct code when referring negatively to outsiders (“The vegetarian rule  here serves as a politically correct tool for exclusion of those considered undesirable, namely Muslims, Christians and catch-all others”).  Maybe I won’t need that trunk after all.

Frida?  She’s injured her eye.  We didn’t see it happen.  I just noticed she was winking, even keeping her left eye closed.  Lacey got her to the vet.   Corneal ulcer.  It is supposed to be very painful, but a week of applying gel to her eye four to six times a day should sort it out.  Poor dear!fw

While Lacey was tending to Frida, I tagged along on a trip to Jersey to check out a Peugeot 504 wagon.  It wasn’t easy to leave Lacey and injured Frida behind, but I did.  My friend brought his mechanic to give the vehicle a thorough visual and road inspection.  Thorough enough to determine the vehicle was not for him.  It would have been nice to see him bring it home, but we all learned a lot.  For instance, I learned that if you need a mechanic or even a used car in the area, you should be in touch with George Rubinchuk at G & R Auto Repair in Del Mar, New York.  The guy knows his stuff and is a hoot.  He could pick up the torch for Click and Clack in a heartbeat.

Food?  Just one batch of brown rice from our new rice cooker, the Zojirushi NP-NVC10, and I am sure I won’t be cooking rice any other way.  Normal brown rice requires about an hour and ten minutes to cook, but it was well worth the wait.  Restaurant quality texture and taste.  Tonight I’ll try my first batch of GABA brown rice.  GABA is short for gamma-Aminobutyric acid.  Aren’t familiar with this particular acid?  Read about it here.  GABA brown rice is made by spouting brown rice before cooking.  Without a rice cooker, the sprouting requires a day or more.  My cooker claims to sprout the rice and cook it in about four and a half hours.  I am skeptical of the health claims I’ve read on the net and that my cooker can deliver them.  Even if the cooker does sprout rice that quickly, it doesn’t sound like eating GABA brown rice will improve my health (“Endogenous GABA does not penetrate the blood–brain barrier”).  Still, it takes twelve times longer to make (when compared to a pressure cooker) and a stupid expensive cooker is required, so I can’t see any downside.

Be well.

2 responses to “Opening

  1. did you look up ‘disorder’ from Chua’s first line on her site?  i THINK it’s a movie out of china that essentially shows a lot of the day to day and crazy (to us) things that go on there…worth a watch if you haven’t seen it.

    • Thanks for the tip! Amazon has Disorder by Huang Weikai for $195. Netflix does not. I’ll hunt around the net some and keep my eyes open at the local theaters. I enjoyed a preview here.
      Hope you are well!

Share your thoughts!

