Unsure

Quickly.  mm

I thought I invented the smoky mezcal mojito but the internet says I was at least two years late to the party.   No matter–I combined 1.5 oz. Somrba mezcal, 1 Tbs. agave nectar, juice of a lime, mint, a pinch of salt and some seltzer.  It’s brown because of the agave nectar (easier than making simple syrup).  At first I thought that was not pretty, but a day later I think otherwise.  I muddled the mint with a wooden pestle that had previously been used to grind cumin.  I wiped it before use but a hint of the flavor made it into the drink (and was a delight).  Maybe this is my contribution.  That, and a pinch of salt.  This made me think of salt.  Why not always with the salt?bwd

Notice the black rubber grips?  Had to take off the cork ones that I loved so much (purchased from Rivendell long ago).  They were made of bits of cork that had been glued together.  One came loose, see.  The glue was still holding but the inside surface of the cork separated from one grip such that the grip could be easily slipped off.  Happily it didn’t slip off while riding.  The outside of the grip still looked good, but the inner diameter was bigger (having lost the material that remained stuck to the bar).  The grip would no longer make good contact with the bar, so regluing wasn’t possible (unless instead of thin spray adhesive I used something with dimension like Shoe Goo, but then the problem would surely happen again at some point in the future).  Rivendell stopped selling the composite cork grips and now sells these seemingly better ones made of whole connected cork rings.  They even talk about the old composite cork grips versus the new cork ring grips.  They downplay the downside of the old, but I forgive them.

I’ve picked enough cucumbers for a gallon of pickles, so those are on the counter doing their thing.  No picture.  You’ve all seen ceramic crocks so I won’t waste the electricity to share another image.  fb

I’m also fermenting six beets.  Not dark red this time, maybe sad, but I’m sure I’ll enjoy the result.  fap

The cool weather is back and Frida approves.  Before walks, she jumps for joy as if a decade of her life has been rewound.  Nothing could make me happier.

Rewound?  That is something you used to do with audio and video tapes.  Have you done this?  I did for decades, but I am old enough to have just bought my first pair of progressive lenses for my eyeglass frames.  I sprung for ridiculously expensive Nikon Professional lenses and would suggest you consider the same when your number comes up.  I was warned that I’d need three weeks to adapt, but I loved them from the first second and a day later don’t notice any difference. I can see super well at all distances, ‘cept I can’t see the TV when watching reclined in bed unless I slide the frames down my nose a bit.  Other than that, it’s all gravy.

Enjoy your weekend.

Share your thoughts!

