Pleasantly

Let’s get to it.  On Sunday I milled corn to make my Dad his yearly loaves of cornbread.  My Dad is the biggest fan of my blog so you might guess this post would spoil the surprise.  Not so (because the surprise is already spoiled–the first question out of his mouth when I called this Sunday was “Are you sending my cornbread?”).  Glad I was!  Here is the mill in action.  gm

Here are the resulting loaves in all of their freshly milled corn glory.  cb

I also made chocolate chip cookies with a recipe from Julie Hasson’s Vegan Diner.  Another winner from this cookbook.c

Beer?  I may be growing tired of high alcohol beers.  A 64-ounce growler of Goose Island’s Bourbon County Stout, weighing in at 14.5% ABV, may have been the brick that broke this camel’s back.  It was delicious, but I could only enjoy about a juice glass or two at a go.  I had help from three other people, but I still didn’t fully invert the growler until three days had passed.  Time to buy a 32-ounce growler.  bic

Evil Twin’s Bikini Beer, an IPA tickling the scales at 2.7% ABV, resides comfortably at the other end of the spectrum.  The can says it isn’t a sissy beer.  Their website says it is a sissy beer.  The eviler twin must maintain the website.  No matter.  I enjoyed the incredible amounts of hoppy goodness and even a bit of body.  Pretty amazing achievement.   big

In the category of no surprise Lacey was right, I did get caught in a gentle snow shower while wearing my Rivendell English Jacket.  I am glad to report that not one flake of the cup or so that hit me during a 1.5 mile ride to the grocery penetrated this fortress of a coat.  Also, I didn’t overheat or even get sweaty.  I did pedal easy, though.  That’s my advice to people looking for one coat with both water protection and breathability–slow down.  Sure there are times (headwind or long hills) that you can’t avoid exerting yourself a bit, but if it is raining or snowing, the slower the better.  If you are late, that’s your fault.  Not something to be solved by a piece of clothing.

sh

I’ll leave you with a picture of my noble friend, Frida.  She endured her annual shots having made only a modest effort to push her self through a closed door.  Happily, there is still too much material to this girl to allow that to happen.fs

Take care of yourself, okay?

Share your thoughts!

