Not Cold

So long as I stay inside and wear long underwear, cord-roys (sic), hoodie, down jacket (pre vegan purchase, to be cherished for life) and stocking cap.  Frida didn’t get a walk yesterday and won’t today.  Might be the first time in her life she hasn’t been walked two days in a row.  Poor thing.  Come to think of it, I am not too many hours from cabin fever myself.

I once heard about this thing happening online called Am I Ugly.  Sounds like people post pictures somewhere and ask for feedback.  Can you imagine the feedback?  People have trouble behaving in the real world.  Give them anonymity and, well, look out.  Would have crushed me as a kid.  Would now, even.  My face is kinda asymmetrical.  Just occurred to me that I can take pictures of one side of my face at a time.  Problem solved! photo

Kids should find something to do with less potential for psychic damage.  How about Is My Shot Ugly?  Rather than crushing your soul, feedback could help you pull better shots.  Espresso Shot January 2013

Three new LPs are on their way from good folks at Saddle Creek Records.  An instant download of The Trusted Language by UUVVWWZ is floating through not warm air to the hifi.  New to me, but not to Lincoln, Nebraska.  Some of their songs make me think of Beep Beep with a female lead.  Looking for more info on the band, I ended up at Omahype.  Omaha looks pretty good.  From that site, I ended up at Dundee Cycles.  Interesting place.  If I am understanding the tweet on the bottom of the page, they play darts at the shop on Fridays at 5:00.  Wish I could be there to invite myself for a game.  You can bet I’d buy one of these (if they aren’t sold out) while I was there.

We used to live about a block from the piano store where that shop seems to be located.  The first time we tried to cross the street to their side of Dodge, must have been 1993, a pickup truck passenger tossed the contents of a big gulp filled with chaw spit at us–nailed both Lacey and I.  We walked home, stripped in the laundry room, cleaned up, redressed and headed back out to the video rental store.  Hillbillies everywhere, I tell you.

Land of Talk’s Cloak and Cipher is on now.  Sort of a Bettie Servert sound.  I hope they aren’t in their hometown of Montreal just now (-2 F).  JW

I bought Lacey a bottle of Johnnie Walker Double Black whisky.  Label said it was smoky, and it is.  Too much so for Lacey.  Kind of surprised.  I thought she liked all the brown beverages, whether sweet, tasting of iodine or blasted with peat.  Guess her tastes are changing.  Bourbon is her preferred brown now.  Not a problem–the Double Black will be welcome in my glass any evening.

Computer screens!  I should go focus my eyes on something more than 18 inches from my face.  I hope you are doing well.

8 responses to “Not Cold

  1. Thank you for giving me a good laugh. I really needed it.

  2. You excelled at that one.
    So cold here.
    Cheers.

    • Thanks for writing and the kind words! Good to hear from you. When I saw your note, I first thought about your girls. Worried about their little fingers! Then I remembered that young people often handle the cold better than we do. How are you all doing?

  3. Mrs. Dr. Tom Falloon

    LOVE YOU. LOVE YOUR FACE. TOM SPLURGED ON A PASQUINI FOR OUR COMBINED BIRTHDAYS AND THE CELEBRATION OF BABY JESUS. HE IS MAKING PLANS TO COMPETE IN TOKYO FOR BEST BARISTA CREAM PERFORMANCE ART. YOU BOYS WILL HAVE TO HAVE A BATTLE FOR THE BEST CREMA. HE’S ON CALL AND BLUE AS BLUE GETS THIS WEEKEND. HOPE TO SHARE SOME NEW YEAR CHEER SOON. STAY WARM!! XOXOXOXO

  4. I think you have a pretty rocking beautiful face too!!! You are a wonderful and talented man!

Share your thoughts!

