Closure

Returning home from a celebration hosted by neighbors (it’d take a coin toss to determine whether students or teachers are made happier by the school year end), I was welcomed by the smell of kimchi.  The crock was resting half a house away, but the smell was at the front door like an eager puppy ready for a ball toss.  I would not have been surprised to see Korean grandmothers on the lawn, trying to look all casual but hoping to be invited inside for a taste.  Sour enough, so this morning it went into ten pint jars.

Great to be done with another project, but not so great to rearrange five quarts of kimchi from last year to make way for this years product.  We need to eat more kimchi!  If you want some, bring a pint jar or two.  I’d be happy to share with you a pint of 2011 and a pint of 2012 so you can compare and contrast.  No essay required or expected.

My father is home from the hospital.  There is so much healing to do.  He is on iv penicillin and has to wear pressure socks to, I think, prevent blog clots.  He needs an elevated bed to sleep comfortably.  I haven’t spoken more than a few sentences with him.  My mom answers the phone and the conversations are short.  She sounds tired.  I wish we lived closer to one another.  I could at least cook a few meals for them.

A long stick of Japanese aloeswood incense is burning.  The beautiful smell, especially at this hour, brings back so many wonderful memories.  I haven’t meditated for more than a year and even then it was just a few days in a row.  Before that, years of not meditating.  Not much since we moved to Albany.  I learned so much from sitting with the good people at the Nebraska Zen Center.  I hope I get back on the cushion.  I hope I look for a new sangha.  Just as I know that I need to do yoga, I know that I need to meditate with a group of good people.  With a teacher.  I am a wandering ghost.  I have monkey mind.  I am keeping myself in motion to distract myself from the real work that needs to be done.

To be continued.

Have a good day.

 

2 responses to “Closure

  1. I applaud you for being able to be productive, rather than destructive during your wandering, monkey mind time. May your father have a fast, simple recovery. xo

Share your thoughts!

