Wooly Goodness

I haven ‘t purchased a new suit since we jumped on the vegan wagon a dozen years ago.  Wool is the problem–we try not to buy it.  The bulk of the wool that makes its way into our clothing comes from a single country and I understand that the bulk of  the producers there (the people–not the sheep) don’t treat the sheep the way I would care to be treated.  Even the happiest sheep on earth can’t consent to give wool.  For me it is a golden rule thing.  Since I wouldn’t consent to be kept for life in a single location and have my hair taken on someone else’s schedule, let alone volunteer for a few really distasteful procedures which I won’t describe, I have a hard time buying new wool things.

I do on occasion, though, buy used wool.  Such was the case with my fancy new suit from the local Goodwill.  Made in the USA in 1986 by union tailors (the Amalgamated Clothing and Textile Workers Union, to be precise) and sold at The Andover Shop, it looks and feels like a pretty special suit.  For instance, the sleeves have buttons that unbutton!  Probably common on custom suits, but I’ve never seen it.  Fancy, no? 

All for twenty dollars, plus another fifty clams for the tailoring and cleaning.  Well worth it, though, as the suit is now well-pressed and the jacket fits wonderfully (the pants already did).  For local folks, I can now recommend the tailor at Executive Cleaners.  Bring on the bar mitzvahs!

Later!

8 responses to “Wooly Goodness

  1. Dear Randy,

    There is a way to be sheep respectful and kind, I recently worked with friends to cut “Chantall’s” two year growth of wool, we used scissors (only did one small nick of skin) and fed her while we got her wool off. She was beginning to get hot after not cutting her wool for two years. When I put my hand in her precut wool down to her skin there was about a 10 degree difference. She seemed to like it and pranced in the field with the other goats and sheep at my friend’s farm here in Michigan after her “new doo”. I would send pictures of the scissor cutting process, however, I am rather non technological and it is hit or miss if I actually am able to get pictures on an e-mail, I will try when a child or grandchild passes by. I love your blog. I look forward to reading it. Regards and best wishes, your cousin Debbie

    • Hello! Nice to hear from you, and thanks for the compliments! I know there are ways to be nice to sheep, and if anyone would do it, I know it would be you! It’s just that there is little chance of me getting happy fiber sent to England to be turned into wool for suits, then tailored into a suit. If I could, I am pretty sure the suit would cost about $5,000! As it is, I will keep my eyes open for second hand. Not perfect, but good for me.

      Take care and have a wonderful weekend!

      • Randy,

        Well, you look so nice in that suit you found I think considering there are many in the world who are not kind to animals you should just continue with the second hand suit pursuit. Another point, why should the world just continue to produce more when we can use what we have on this earth presently.

        When I hopefully retire at age 70 in ten years would you consider finding/making a “grandma” bike with a basket for me to buy. Regards and best wishes ever to you and Lacy, Debbie

      • Aw! You are so sweet! Of course I will help you come up with a bicycle! Ten years from now, we may just have one “in stock!” Just say the word and I will start the search. Speak to you soon!

  2. Great score!

    • Thanks! I have little love for new suits, but vintage suits makes me feel just the right amount of punk. I should have noted that the shirt is vintage short sleeved poly blend and the tie is clip on poly. Joys!

  3. Somehow before I read your article, I knew that you had gone to the Goodwill just as you did for your wedding suit. Beautiful picture of you and nice looking suit. It’s already framed and in the den! Love, Mom

Share your thoughts!

