Matzoh Balls!

Passover is upon us so its time to build stuff from Matzoh.  Vegan matzoh balls!  I can’t believe I’ve never written about these little treasures.  Lacey got the recipe from Lagusta, but I helped test and Lagusta gave me permission to share, so here you are!  

Of course these don’t look good–they’re matzoh balls.  Their only chance of looking good is floating in a pretty broth, which I don’t have together so balls on a plate are what you get.  Click on the picture, then again, and look at the nice texture on the cut one.  Let’s make some more, together!

Heat to boiling a large pot of salted water.

In a small pot, boil for 10 minutes and stir occasionally 2 cups of water and 1/3 cup of whole flax seeds.  Pour the resulting liquid through a strainer and help it through by stirring and pressing with a spoon.  You’ll use the strained liquid (“flax seed goo”) and discard the seeds.

Whiz seven sheets of Matzoh in a food processor to end up with 2 cups of coarse matzoh meal.

In a separate bowl, whisk together 1/2 cup of the flax seed goo, 1/4 cup olive oil, 1/2 cup seltzer water, 1 Tbs. dill and salt and pepper to taste.  Now add the matzoh meal and stir to combine.

Home stretch!  Hand-form roughly sixteen 1.5 inch balls and boil for 20 minutes.

Are the balls not forming?  A couple of fixes.  First, you can grind the meal more finely.  Not a problem that you have all the ingredients together at this point.  Put the whole mess into the food processor and whiz some more.  This has worked for Lagusta.  She also suggests that this could be a way to make the whole business go faster–toss all the ingredients in the processor from the git go.  It should work.  Join the open source vegan matzoh ball team.  Try it and report back!  Alternatively, add a splash more seltzer and mix some more.  This I tried when my dough was too dry–with it the balls formed easily.  

Don’t forget to save the cooking water to use as a base when making a Lagusta inspired stock (see the first link in this post).  That’s that.  Hooray for vegan matzoh ball soup!

M. Ward’s A Wasteland Companion arrived yesterday.  Fantastic.  Come by for a listen.  I preordered it from the label.  Since I now know that early pressings are of better quality than later pressings, it occurs to me that preording from the label might be one way to get an early pressing.  I can’t be sure.  Maybe the press ships all the run to the label at once without identifying the pressing order, but it is fun to pretend.  My copy sure sounds nice.

Do I still bicycle?  Sometimes, yes!  Today I was pedaling slowly through a big grocery store parking lot.  Spidey senses were a’tingling.  Who can relax while pedaling through a large parking lot?  Grabbed the brakes to avoid being hit by a motorist motoring through the parked cars (instead of in the traffic lane) and talking on a cell phone.  “Yo!” came out of my mouth as I moved left and stopped.  The motorist heard me and mouthed sorry.  I felt so loved (in an unloved, unseen, way).  Whatever.  Three cheers for my Paul’s front brake and Velosteel coaster brake.  USA!  Czech Republic!  Wonder twin powers activate–form of a bicycle not hit by an inattentive motorist!  Sigh.

Later.

Share your thoughts!

