Stitches for all my Friends

If you are squeamish, click away now.  So far I’ve resisted sharing images of my stitches, but I can resist no longer.  I’ll save the images for below so you can get away now (if need be).

See, one of two hinge pins securing the fill hole cover in the lid of our ten-year old Brita filter gave up the ghost today.  In a fit of super cleaning the thing, I tried to remove the fill hole cover.  I hoped it was designed to be clicked in and out.  It was certainly clicked into place during the initial assembly, but the old plastic didn’t survive a second trip.

I didn’t want to add the pitcher to the landfill and I already have a nice glass open top pitcher, so I decided to fix the hinge.

I found a steel pin of the right size and drilled a hole through the lid.

Four small holes allowed me to fish light gauge wire through to form two hinges shown below.

And here.

The free ends were tucked into the hole where the rubber thumb tactile improvement device was located, and the rubber plug could still be pushed into place.

Doesn’t look too bad.  It will almost certainly never break again.  The wire is galvanized and the pin looks like hardened steel, so while the wire may not rust, the pin probably will.  No matter, though, as the whole repaired assembly isn’t in or near the water.  I don’t think rust is hazardous anyway, but the whole idea of a water filter is to give the illusion of clean water.  New York’s water is so good straight out the pipes, I’ve wondered why I bother at all.  Now that I have invested time and energy fixing the thing, I will surely keep at the filtering process for a decade or so more.

Why I performed and documented this repair with my hand uncovered in mid-heal is beyond me.  It is part of my makeup (to become focused on a project and forget everything but).  For instance, it is totally within my character to find myself with a brush and an open can of paint doing some touch up when I notice I am wearing a brand new suit.  I know I should stop, but I don’t.  Maybe it is genetic.  When I disclosed my injury to my parents, at my request my mother retold the story of her most significant injury.  As a child, she was jumping off a ramped cattle loading chute with a stick in her hand.  Upon landing the stick went through her ankle.  In one side and out the other.  My mother and grandmother waited for my grandpa to come home, at which point he pulled the stick out with a pliers and topically treated the area with some antibiotic on hand (I wished it was a bottle of whisky, but the story doesn’t really need improvement) and declared her good.  He was right.  It functions without pain.  Marks on each side of her leg are still visible.  Ghoulish, but telling.  I have some big shoes to fill in the universe of home doctoring.

Dr. Jonathan S. Halpert at Prime Care Urgent Care did a good job on the stitches (thanks again, Doc!), but he was wrong when he remarked that I would no longer get jobs as a hand model.  If I have learned one thing from the internet, it is that there is an audience for every image.  I just hope that today I haven’t chased away my existing readers!

Time to wrap the hand, put it into a rubber glove, secure the opening with a sweatband and take a shower.  Why I go to such great lengths to care for the hand in the shower (a place of clean water and soap), yet undertake a repair using old rusty pliers and sharp metal wire… I am just repeating myself now.  Forgive me this habit of the old.

Take better care of yourself than I care for myself (or take as good care of yourself as I do my $20 Brita pitcher).  Bye.

4 responses to “Stitches for all my Friends

  1. You know, chicks dig scars, or so I hear. Glad to hear the pitcher (I LOVE a good DIY fix) and your hand have are on the road to (or have arrived at) recovery.

    • I’ll raise a pint to healing!

      Not sure how I didn’t think to name my modified pitcher Franken-Stein, what with the stitches and the bolts sticking out the sides. I’ve thought it now, and it is so named.

      Could this be the first time a Brita filter pitcher has been named? Houses, cars, bikes and guitars often get names, but toothbrushes, ballpoint pens and soap dispensers rarely do. Seems to depend on cost of the item, but I haven’t noticed people naming their health insurance plans. Maybe we give names to things which combine good design and durability. Brita would do well to consider these questions and design a pitcher that inspires people to name it (before they invest time and energy with mods).

      Be well!

  2. GNARLY STITCHES!! Cool fix to the Brita, but your hand looks like something from the Nightmare Before Christmas. Hope you’re feeling better!

Share your thoughts!

