Specialized Stumpjumper

Pedaled a Specialized Stumpjumper to the garden today.  It has been living at my in-laws place, but I brought it home this weekend.  

It was living in a dry but dusty garage.  It needs a good cleaning.

I haven’t tried to determine its year.  Early 1980s seems right.  Update:  Pretty sure it is a 1983.  Specialized first offered the Stumpjumper, its first mountain bike, in 1981 with a run of 500 bikes.

Love the bullhorn bars.  Nitto made them.  The Grab-On grips are silly, but period correct and in good condition.

The drive train is nice with Suntour Mountech derailleurs and Sugino AT cranks.  

Bear trap pedals are copies of Suntour XC-II pedals.  They are surprisingly well made for knock-offs.

Nice Shimano cantilever brakes.

Saturne X28 rims.  On this sticker, the N is clearly an N.  On my road Saturne rims, the N looks like an A.

Garden is going great guns.  Cucumbers.

Snow peas. 

Tomatillo lanterns.  

Again.  So lovely!

Watering knocked one off.  I opened it and there was a tomatillo inside.  About the size of a shooter marble.

Disc Golf this weekend was good.  Scored a 68, which seems to be where my scores end up absent miracles or tragedies.  I wacked my arm on a tree while playing a week ago.  Didn’t think anything of it, but there is a big bruise there now (which arose five days after the meeting with the tree).  It is pretty tender when pushed on, too.  I am thinking I fractured a bone when I hit the tree and made things worse by pulling on some bars to straighten them, doing a bunny hop or teaching my nephew how to ride a bicycle.  Probably all of the above.  If the bruise doesn’t go away soon, I’ll go in for a check.  For now, though, I’ll just stare at it and poke at it a hundred times a day.  Seems like the right thing to do.

That’s it.  I’ll get back to the catalog pages soon.  I’d rather post other stuff as it happens.  Hope you don’t mind.

Bye!

Share your thoughts!

