Younger Brother

Pollen is everywhere.  Yesterday a fella was raking his lawn with a red bandana on his face, desperado style.  As I approached, he pulled it down.  Not a genuine bad ass.  For that I was thankful.  My shoes dusted with pollen.

We have some seriously old street fixtures.

The 1992 Bridgestone XO-1 had a day the sun yesterday.  Today was the turn of the 1993 Bridgestone XO-1.

Riding them back to back I can confirm there are no material differences.   The larger size is preferable.  The bars and the saddle are nearly level.  I stretched out with my hands at the furthest out positions on the bars as I pedaled into the wind.
Tulips are a big deal here.  They are everywhere.  People just poke them into the ground any old place.

Skinny, but room for much larger tires if that would please.  Big white tires would look good and be fun, I think.

I enjoy these seat stay decals.  Simple and kind of racy.  

Clean, naturally.  This is not a bicycle to be neglected.  None should be.  

Pedaling through the park.  The bumps make my breath choppy.

Climbed at the Albany rock gym yesterday.  That place and the company were real treats.  It was busy, but still enough room to do whatever you liked.  I watched a friend climbing along the ceiling clipping his line into anchors as he climbed along the top of the wall.  As his line was slackened to allow him to clip in at yet another anchor point, he fell.  The slack together with the distance from the last anchor and some rope stretch allowed him to free fall nearly to the floor.  The rope tightened just before he landed slowing him a bit.  The cushioned floor helped too.  He was fine and climbed back up to set that anchor and one more.  It was a learning moment for all.  The scariness will cement the lessons in our minds.

Onward!

4 responses to “Younger Brother

  1. Randy – Can you describe the benefits/feel of the moustache handlebars vs. Nitto drop bars (and, maybe, vs. albatross bars). Ordering a Hillbourne for my wife who is now riding a clunker/commuter with straight mountain bike bars with bar ends. I like the look of the moustache bars (and rarely use the drops myself), but the brake position looks like it might take some getting used to, especially if you end up using the outer sides of the bars for a comfortable upright ride. Thoughts? Thanks.

    • I’ll try to help, but in the end I can only give generalizations. The final result depends so much on frame size, stem and bar position and personal preference.

      Here goes with the generalizations. The Moustache bars are very similar to flipped over Albatross bars, so I will comment on those together. Both give basically three places to place the hands, but I end up on the straights most often (best control), the bends second (to fight wind) and the center (near the stem) third (to relax on long rides). I might grab the hoods for a fourth and most flat back position, but rarely. Braking is only convenient from the hoops.

      Drop bars give me only two positions if they are positioned low–the center and the hoods. Can only brake from the hoods. Raise them up and I might use the drops and you can also brake from there. My only preference in this mix is when I want any bar level with the saddle or a smidge higher. For any bar this all the difference. As far as preferring one bar to another, I don’t. Get them up high, and it is just about aesthetics.

      You’ve surely read the thoughts from the Rivendell folks, but in case you haven’t, see this.

      Good luck and have fun!

  2. Thanks – Might just try the moustache! I have a set of interrupter brakes on my drop bars – so I can brake from there (most of the time) or the hoods.

    By the way, I really enjoy your posts – keep ’em coming!

Share your thoughts!

