Bicycle Recall

Google gives me a constantly updated list of news items containing the word bicycle. Very often the item relates to a death while riding a bicycle or a bicycle used to escape the scene of a crime. Less often, but still too often for comfort, the story relates to a bicycle recall.

Such was the case, today, when I was given notice of an Associated Press story entitled “Recalls: pumpkin butter, bicycle frames.” Who could resist the title? It wasn’t simply the juxtaposition of the disparate items being recalled. The AP often lumps together in a single article whatever items have been recalled that day. Efficient and hilarious, like a good New Yorker cartoon.

Today, as a lover of both fruit butters and bicycles, I was powerless but to read on.

I’ll comment on the recalls in order. First, the Amish Pumpkin Butter. Seems to me that the Amish enjoy a well deserved reputation as careful and honest people. Maybe we should forgive them if just this once some of their canned goods might be contaminated with botulism. Not that the user of the contaminated butter will have much of a chance to offer absolution, but maybe family and friends will be so kind as to to give the Amish a second chance. That said, I should probably put a hold on my plan to invite a few Amish people to the next critical mass. Seemed like such a good idea. I mean, who would honk at the Amish?

Next, the bicycles. The AP reports that some Taiwanese made Niner frames have insufficient welds, and then directs you to the Niner website to get more info. To the site I went, but it wasn’t easy to find the recall notice. News tab? No. Support? No. They’d probably argue the public is better served by advertising the recall on their homepage. There it is! On the bottom left, under the links to subscribe to their feeds on Facebook and Youtube. Indeed!

Follow the link and Niner discloses that Taiwanese made Niner Jet 9 frames suffer from a welding deficiency in an undisclosed location in the front triangle. No injuries reported, but 53 of the 750 recalled frames have cracked. I suspect it isn’t a welding deficiency. Check out those welds!

I’d guess instead that it was a design error, and that the frames are cracking in the same spot. Wouldn’t it be nice if they told the users where the frames were cracking? Maybe not strictly necessary if they are giving the users new frames, but if I owned one I would want to know.

[Update 08.26.10:  I just read on Bike Snob that President Bush is riding a 29er now.  Unfortunately, it looks like it is the recalled model from Niner! Check this out!]

The title to the AP piece doesn’t give it away, but two separate active wear recalls also slipped into the news stream today. First, the draw strings on hoodies made for the Junk Food Clothing Company can strangle kids. I wonder why the Junk Food Clothing Company was singled out? Am I not at risk of strangulation when wearing any hoodie (and knotting the drawstring, slipping it over a coat hook and just relaxing into the sweet, sweet night)? Second, Tommy Hilfiger sweatshirts can catch fire. Who knew? I wear a fair amount of petroleum based clothing and I make a point of not applying flame directly to the material while it is wrapped about my person. Maybe I am alone, once again, in my abundance of caution.

For the foreseeable future, I intend to eat only nut butters (with a tall glass of almond milk at the ready), ride frames that are glued together and remove all clothing when I reasonably expect open flames to be present. Please take whatever remedial actions feel right to you.

2 responses to “Bicycle Recall

  1. Pumpkins and bicycle frames disparate?
    I beg to differ:

  2. Funny! I stand corrected!

    That picture is such a studio shot, though. Putting that much weight on a front rack and leaving the bicycle unattended is is likely to send your bicycle and load to the ground. Result: Pumpkin butter.

Share your thoughts!

