A Crock

It is hot as all get out here.  We slept in the basement, the three of us sharing a 3/4 sized mattress (an out of general production size that is between a twin and a full).  I woke up at 4:30 and pedaled to the garden to water.  The sunrise was beautiful.  I brought home five more cucumbers to add to the small stash in the fridge and came up with two and a  half pounds.  Too few for a full gallon of pickles, but I will add to the crock the few that present themselves tomorrow and Saturday.  

I love fermenting pickles.  Few ingredients and they are all beautiful.  The yellow liquid is pickle juice from last year.  I was going to add some to the crock but didn’t in the end.  Who wouldn’t want to spend a week in this bed?  

We still have two gallons of pickles from last year.  An embarrassment of riches.  We must eat more pickles!  Each year I put fewer plants in the ground, but I need to further limit planting.

We went to bed at sunset and the basement is quiet so the fireworks didn’t bother Frida.  It can be such a stressful day for dogs.  Our neighborhood was mostly quiet during the day, too.  We sat out on the drive with a drink at 5:00 p.m.  and didn’t hear so much as a lady finger.  I was a big fan of fireworks as a kid.  Inch and a halfers and bottle rockets were my favorites.  I didn’t have a dog at the time.  A big sorry to all the dogs I stressed out with my noise.

Lacey’s alarm just went off, so I should work on breakfast.  Much law work today, but I don’t need to start for a couple of hours.  It has been quite a morning already!  I hope yours was nice, too.

Share your thoughts!

