ANT Light Roadster

This post is a friendly challenge to Mike Flanigan.  Goes like this.

Mike builds bicycles which are beautiful and useful.  We’re lucky enough to care for three.  Two of them have been in shows.  One was at Interbike in 2006 for the Shimano Alfine builders contest where it took 3rd.  Now it caries home vegetables from the community garden in high style.

Another was at NAHBS in 2009.  Now it carries Lacey all around town.

The third, a Light Roadster, carries me around town when I feel like being simple and quiet.  

Sad thing is, though, this super competent and beautiful bicycle feels kinda left out having never been in a show.  What’s that?  Could it be true?  Is there a way to remedy this terrible oversight?  There is!  

Mike posted a request for buyers of three to be built bicycles that should end up in a show this spring at the Museum of Arts & Design in NYC.  A museum show!  One of the bicycles Mike wants to build is a black Light Roadster with a D Rack!  Sounds familiar!The perfect way for my Light Roadster to feel vindicated.

So I offer Mike a loan of mine for the show.  It’s perfect for the show, says I anyway.  Sadly, Mike says no.  In his words, he wants the museum bicycles to be the best that he can display.  What does that make my Light Roadster–the Mike Flanigan equivalent of chopped liver?  Fine chopped liver, I’ll tell you!  If Richard Sachs can bring a muddy cross bike to NAHBS, why can’t Mike bring a used Light Roadster to a Museum?  You want that I should ride it through a puddle?  

Needs red rims?  Just say the word and I’ll gladly pay to have you powdercoat and build a pair.  I even ordered a pair of White Industries platform pedals to grace my Light Roadster.  After I placed the order, I called them to change the order from black to silver, since I read you wanted all silver parts!  What more can a rabid supporter do?  

Mike’s bikes are about utility and mine has been utilized!  Museums are filled with used stuff, right?  My Light Roadster has even been hit by a car and survived unscathed!  It should be sainted!  It should be in the center of the exhibit with a sign exclaiming Mike’s mad skills and offering as proof the bike with two lives anyway.  

So here is the challenge.  Build a Light Roadster for the show more beautiful than mine.  I dare you.  Double dog dare, even.  If you do, you and everyone in your ANT colony benefits by having your exhibit look so super rad, especially the lucky owner of that special bicycle.  I’ll forgive you for not making my Light Roadster famous as a bonus.  If you don’t, well, I know where you live.  Actually, I don’t.  I don’t even know where your workshop is anymore.  What the?! OK.  If you don’t, I will be forced to take your frame building class and then, after 30 years of practice and a good measure of divine intervention, I will show you how it is done.  I’ll lay the OCD hammer down!

Good luck, Mike!  We are all rooting for you!

7 responses to “ANT Light Roadster

  1. Hilarious! Your Light Roadster is obviously full of angst. And hey, I didn’t realise you people have THREE A.N.T. bikes!

    How does Lacey like her Lady’s Roadster after some months riding it? Hs she gone long distance? On hilly terrain? Inquiring minds want to know!

  2. Thanks for writing!

    No long or hilly rides yet and I doubt that will ever happen. Lacey has so many bicycles. That’s my fault, but her boon.

    If long and hilly are on the agenda (doesn’t happen very often, as we are so very gentle with ourselves), she most often selects her Bridgestone XO-2. Now that I have the 1993 XO-1, she is also welcome to pedal the 1992 XO-1 (which is a smaller size very well suited to her frame).

    If speed is to be a component of a long and hilly ride (very rare indeed), Lacey can pick either a Panasonic racer with full Shimano 600 (white to silver fade) or a super stock 1993 Bridgestone RB-1. The determination would be made based on whether we planned to leave the bicycles unattended.

    The ANT Roadster is her first choice for city rides, which is what we undertake most frequently. Albany is flat and compact. For this, the Roadster pleases Lacey very much. The Roadster is clearly capable of going up and far powered by Lacey’s well conditioned pistons, but she has so many other bicycles wanting a taste of sunshine.

    There are more for other uses, but I should save it for another day. The sun is coming up!

    Take care.

  3. A bicycle for every occasion, that sounds like a dream. Hopefully that’s how I will feel when I get my Royal H. Mixte this Spring and when my Sam Hillborne is all built up. Anything more “racy” than that I just won’t need. Eventually I hope to have my Pashley replaced by an A.N.T. Unfortunately, the kind of bicycle I would want Mike to make will cost quite a bit!

  4. Thought I would come over here and see what was going on…oh boy ;)
    I guess it is just a continual process for me. I spend a lot of time coming up with my next design, build it, happy with it for…a moment and then ready to try something else, thinking that I should have built it another way.
    I am excited about the museum show, so I can build something new, something different than anything I have made before [kind of like your brown bike].
    I am keeping my address of the web now, but if you want to come by, just get in touch and the address is yours :)

    • Continually evolving and improving. That’s why we love you, Mike!

      Thanks for the invite. If it is ok with you, I’ll wait until the weather improves so we can have a roll around the area.

      Speak to you soon!

  5. I haven’t checked in for a while. Lacey gave me a head’s up on facebook, so here I am. I’m all caught up now. The incense sounds divine…must smell. I like your video of the living room ride and, as expected, the picture of three with the church :)

Share your thoughts!

